August 28, 2020

Yesterday, as part of the Morning Prayer Walk I posted the fourth of the Ten Commandments: “Father, help me to honor the Sabbath and keep it holy.” I have to admit this is the one I have the most difficult time with. I am getting better, but am still far from where I need to be on taking time to rest. In addition, I am praying that I learn what it means to keep it holy in our context. I believe it’s about more than rest. It’s about honoring God.

Today, I posted the fifth of the Ten Commandments: “Father, help me to honor my parents well.” I realize this is more difficult for some than others. Each person has to determine what this looks like for them. My wife’s aunt modeled this to us so well. Her mom’s mind was ravaged by Alzheimer’s and she couldn’t live in her home next door any longer. After her mom moved into the nursing home, she drove 15 miles each day to fix her hair and put lotion on her skin, and missed very few days. This was a beautiful way to honor her mom.

May we bless God by honoring our parents well!

Published by

Kevin

I am just an ordinary man pursuing our extraordinary God.

Leave a comment